Cemitas Puebla

I love having a nearby spot that I can rely on for a solid meal every time without breaking the bank, and that’s what I got when I found Cemitas Puebla.

Cemitas Puebla is a fast casual restaurant that specializes in cemita sandwiches. Cemitas, which get their name from the seed on the bun, are sandwiches originating in Puebla, Mexico (hence the name Cemitas Puebla. In addition to the sandwiches they serve tacos, quesadillas, chips, guacamole, salsa, rice, beans and more. Everything they make uses fresh ingredients to help create vibrant, authentic flavors that make you feel like you’re being transported to Puebla.

IMG_8429While a traditional cemita is filled with sliced avocado, meat, white cheese, onions, the pápalo and red sauce; Cemitas Puebla offers a wide variety of tortas ranging from pork to chicken to vegetarian options. While I can only speak to the vegetarian option, I have to say the sandwich is delicious. The bread, which resembles a brioche, is a perfect vessel for the mushrooms, peppers, onions and cheese. I love adding their most spicy hot sauce to bring out some extra heat.

IMG_8420The chips, guacamole and salsa are all fresh and delicious. The chips are always light and crispy, and you can taste all of the different ingredients in the guacamole and salsa, a welcome change to some restaurants where everything is one note. Here the flavor is truly the star.

The rice, I must admit, I have mixed emotions about. It’s a tomato based rice that isn’t your run of the mill side at a Mexican restaurant. Every time I go I order it, and every time I feel unsure about it. It’s not that I don’t like the rice, it’s just not what I’m used to. That being said, I recommend giving it a try.

IMG_8415The margaritas are always a win. Unlike many places I’ve been, their margarita is not overly sweet or overpowered by mixers. The drink has a great balance of tequila, salt, lime and just a touch of sweetness to take away the bite from the alcohol. Definitely a must try for anyone 21+.

Overall, the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, and reliably delicious food make this a great place to grab a meal for a reasonable price, especially compared to some of its neighbor restaurants on the block. Next time you’re in the West Loop and need a bite to eat I recommend stopping by.


Cemitas Puebla

817 W. Fulton Market
Chicago, IL

312.455.9200

Leave a Reply

